La Liga

The somewhat mouth full name. The Campeonato Nacional de Liga de Primera División is the highest-ranking football competition in Spain. However, if you are not familiar with the name, you might know the same event by a different one, Spanish La Liga. Or just La Liga. But you also might recognise it by the official La Liga Santander, name? Which is due to quite obvious reasons. Either-or, all four names are meaning the same. So to keep the confusion to a minimum, all reference to the League going forward will, therefore, be the Spanish La Liga. The Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional (LFP) administers the League as such. Which in comparison are the same thing as English Football League (EFL) in the UK. But what’s more, if we check record kept by the UEFA. The Spanish La Liga currently ranks as one of the highest Leagues in Europe.

Quick history

To find the roots of the Spanish La Liga, we need to roll up our sleeves and dig deep back in the past. In fact, this journey starts in April 1927. When at that time, the director of Arenas Club de Getxo, José María Acha, proposed a national league in Spain. Then after much deliberation, the format was in place and remain mostly intact today. However, from its early days, the League only made up by 10 clubs. Which took some time to go live, and it was not until 1929 that the inauguration season took place. Thant included today big brand clubs like Real Madrid C.F, FC Barcelona, Athletic Bilbao, to mention a few. On a historical remark, these three clubs have managed to keep a place in the League since its first season. So, let’s see how many clubs that play in the Spanish La Liga today.

La Liga Table

How many teams include in the Spanish La Liga?

Although, since its birth, the League has seen some influx and efflux of clubs taking part in the Tournament. Starting in 1929 with its 10 first teams. Then in 1934, a decision was made to increase the number to 12 clubs. Followed by 1941 new proposition of extending it to 14 clubs. Which was overruled in 1950 and 2 more clubs saw the entry, making the total to 16 clubs. That endured for a long time, in fact, it was first in 1971 the League increased to 18 clubs. The once again saw a change in 1987 to 20 clubs. Now, you would think that that’s it, but in 1995 they did brief experimentation and filled up the League to 22 clubs. Though, since 1997 the League has been persistent and housed 20 clubs, fighting over the champion title. And that’s about is.

A season of Spanish La Liga

Football is an international medium without language barriers to all true football fans out there. And, it’s quite simple really. You can adore all type of football no matter the origin of a League. All due to the same rules and regulations, worldwide. As such, as a season of Spanish La Liga works in a similar fashion as any other League. Meaning that a season composes of a double round-robin format stretching between August to May. Telling us that a season is following the same format and are therefore named like 2019/20. Where the teams play once at home and once away, For a grand total of 38 match days. Plus, the pointing system is exactly the same. Suggesting that a team get awarded 3 points for a win and 1 point for a draw. While zero points reward in the event of a loss. Simple as that.

Who owns the League?

The Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional (LFP) is the nation’s sports association that is making the League happen. In fact, they are not only overseeing the Spanish La Liga, but also the second division in Spanish football, the Segunda Division. Yet, with so many big corporations standing in the queue to get a piece of this billion-pound industry, it’s easy to see who the main benefactors are. Plus, with so many private investors and corporations pouring money into the clubs and League. it’s also easy to make the link between club owning and having a stake in the League as a liga

Spanish La Liga competition champions

To finding an overall competition champion, we don’t have to make that much comparison. And it’s a clear cut case of one dominant club, Real Madrid C.F. That has picked up the win an astonishing 33 times. (1931/32, 1932/33, 1953/54, 1954/55, 1956/57, 1957/58, 1960/61, 1961/62, 1962/63, 1963/64, 1964/65, 1966/67, 1967/68, 1968/69, 1971/72, 1974/75, 1975/76, 1977/78, 1978/79, 1979/80, 1985/86, 1986/87, 1987/88, 1988/89, 1989/90, 1994/95, 1996/97, 2000/01, 2002/03, 2006/07, 2007/08, 2011/12, 2016/17). Finding its way to second place we have FC Barcelona and it’s still impressive 26 wins. (1929/29, 1944/45, 1947/48, 1948/49, 1951/52, 1952/53, 1958/59, 1959/60, 1973/74, 1984/85, 1990/91, 1991/92, 1992/93, 1993/94, 1997/98, 1998/99, 2004/05, 2005/06, 2008/09, 2009/10, 2010/11, 2012/13, 2014/15, 2015/16, 2017/18, 2018/19). Followed by, but not threatened by Atlético Madrid and its 10 successful seasons. (1939/40, 1940/41, 1949/50, 1950/51, 1965/66, 1969/70, 1972/73, 1976/77, 1995/96, 2013/14). And it’s going to be a long time before we see a new overall winner.

Extraordinary moments in Spanish La Liga

When a League is going back as far as the Spanish La Liga, there is a treasure trove of records and exceptional moments. And one of these times has to be when FC Barcelona pulled off 39 consecutive home wins between February 16th 1958 to November 6th 1960. However, Real Madrid C.F’s 121 home games that they played within February 17th 957 to March 7th 1965 without a loss has to count as a feather in anyone’s hat. But, one truly amazing record is when Francisco Liaño mange the goal during the season 1993/94 with 26 clean sheet games.

Top goal scorers and record keepers in Spanish La Liga

When scouring the records of Spanish La Liga, the overall goal scorer has the same comfortable leed as the competition champions have. And its currently held by Lionel Messi and 433 goals. That has been chased by his closes competitor Cristiano Ronaldo with his 311 goals. But, to find the third place holder we actually need to go back to the early days of the Spanish La Liga. Where we find Telmo Zarra that ended his career in 1955 and still holds his position firm with 251 successes.

Live viewership and the home audience

first, to get a perspective of the size of the live viewers, we first need to check out the stadium capacity. By which is over 750,000. As such the space is there, and it’s actually filling it fairly decent. Where reports tell us that for the last 5 to 6 years the live stadium viewership is between 13,1 million to 14,8 million in one season. Plus, with so much interest in the League and the general interest of Football in Spain. Recent reports tell us that roughly 75% of the Spanish population watch their favourite club whenever they can.

Can you place bets on Spanish La Liga?

You will most definitely find odds and markets when it comes to Spanish La Liga. And you will find markets like the home team to win to nil and last goal, no goal, no bet amongst few. Indeed, as the Spanish La Liga is as widespread as the top Leagues in the UK like Premier League or Championship, you get a complete list of bets to place. And it should be a walk in the park to zero in on the bets that speak the most to you.